Wales Women’s squad announced for final Euro 2022 qualifier

Sophie Ingle and manager Jayne Ludlow. Image Matthew Lofthouse

by Adam Evans

WALES Women’s manager, JAYNE Ludlow, has announced her 26 player squad for Wales’ final UEFA Women’s Euro 2022 qualifier against Belarus next month.

The squad features three players in Chloe Williams, Esther Morgan and Caitlin Morris who could make their Welsh debuts.

The usual experienced candidates of Sophie Ingle, Jess Fishlock, Natasha Harding and Wales’ all-time record goal scorer Helen Ward are all involved. However, Wales have been dealt a blow with Morgan’s Tottenham team-mate Anna Filbey being ruled out as a result of an ACL injury.


A victory for Ludlow’s side and Northern Ireland dropping points against the Belarusians on Friday December 4 would mean Wales will reach the play-offs for a major tournament for the first time ever.

The nine group winners and the three best runners-up will qualify for Euro 2022, meanwhile the six other runners-up will have to compete in the play-offs. The play-offs will take place in April with the date yet to be confirmed.

Wales face Belarus on Tuesday, December 1st at Rodney Parade, Newport.

Wales Squad:

Laura O’SULLIVAN (Cardiff City Ladies), Claire SKINNER (Cardiff City Women), Olivia CLARK (Coventry United), Jess FISHLOCK (Reading- On loan from OL Reign), Sophie INGLE (Chelsea), Hayley LADD (Manchester United), Gemma EVANS (Bristol City), Rhiannon ROBERTS (Liverpool), Angharad JAMES (Reading), Nadia LAWRENCE (Cardiff City Ladies), Rachel ROWE (Reading), Natasha HARDING (Reading), Elise HUGHES (Blackburn Rovers- On loan from Everton), Helen WARD (Watford), Kayleigh GREEN (Brighton & Hove Albion), Josie GREEN (Tottenham Hotspur), Lily WOODHAM (Reading), Maria FRANCIS-JONES (Cardiff City Ladies), Ffion MORGAN (Crystal Palace), Kylie NOLAN (Cardiff City Ladies), Carrie JONES (Manchester United), Georgia WALTERS (Blackburn Rovers), Chloe WILLIAMS (Manchester United), Esther MORGAN (Tottenham Hotspur), Caitlin MORRIS (Southampton), Charlie ESTCOURT (London Bees).