University of South Wales announces nominees of Sport Recognition Awards

by Editor

THE shortlist of nominees for this year’s University of South Wales Sport Recognition Awards has been announced.

Among the list of awards is Academic Student of the Year across all three undergraduate years and at masters level; Best Sports Journalist; male and female Sports Person of the Year; Coach of the Year and Team of the Year.

There is also an award for Outstanding Student of the Year, which was won last year by Ryan Moon, 23, from Crickhowell.

Moon, a masters student studying Football Coaching and Performance, is nominated again, this year in the Academic Student of the Year category.

This season he was involved on the coaching staff with the Men’s 1st football team. They are British Universities and College’s Sport Premier South League winners, having been unbeaten all season. They are also in the final of the BUCS National Trophy, which is being played in Nottingham next week.

Their head coach, Lee Kendall, is shortlisted in the Coach of the Year category alongside Kaseem Meah who coaches the Women’s 1st football team and Callum McGarry from the Men’s 5th football team.

McGarry’s side finished top of the BUCS Western 6B League and are shortlisted for Team of the Year, with the Men’s 1st football team and the Women’s 1st hockey team.

A ceremony to announce the winners and celebrate the achievements of those nominated takes place at Sophia Gardens, Cardiff on April 5.

Tickets are available at £15 each and can be purchased here.


Shortlist of nominees for 2019 Sport Recognition Awards


We’ll be featuring some of the shortlisted nominees on ExpoSport in the lead up to the awards event. If you want to wish them luck, drop us a tweet @SportsJournoUSW