Men’s 4th team named as the side of the season at USW football awards


Pic by Richard Early

by Editor

JOSH Liddiard’s unbeaten Men’s 4th side scooped the team of the year accolade at University of South Wales football club awards.

They took place at Treforest FC, with the Men’s 4s superb season recognised at the annual event.

The team won nine and drew one of their ten games, securing the Western 5B League title at the start of February with a 2-0 victory away to Gloucestershire University 3rd.

Coach Liddiard said: “Winning the league was a special moment for the lads and I, something we worked hard to achieve. After coming so close in the last two seasons we finally got over the line!

“Being unbeaten was a huge driving force to the title, university football is always so tight and we knew if we remained unbeaten any team would struggle to catch us.

“A successful season with a group of players who will remain close friends for a long time.”

Steve Savage, head of performance for USW football, was responsible for selecting the team of the year and made his decision based on what he called “their fantastic success in winning the league unbeaten”.

He also picked up a surprise award to mark his ‘long and valued support’ for football at USW. It was presented to him by Men’s 1st captain Joe Evans.

Savage manages the Men’s 1st team and oversees all eight football teams at the university; six men’s, two women’s, as well as the two men’s futsal sides.

He is also USW’s Sport and Business Development Manager, overseeing the running of the Sport Park in Treforest, which recently opened a new multi million pound facility, including the only full-size indoor 3G football pitch at a university in Wales.

“I’m delighted that the students and staff involved in USW football value the programme, as it fills me with pride seeing the students develop on and off the pitch during their USW journey,” said Savage.

The annual event recognises the player’s player of the season from each team. The winners were:

1st Ash Morris
2nd Callum Pryce
3rd Tommy Fouracre
4th Robbie Turner
5th Jordan Obrien
6th Daniel Hall

1st Sarah Adams
2nd Rachel Mower

1st Robbie Turner
2nd Andy Sinclair

Next Friday sees the USW Sport Recognition Awards for 2018, at the SSE SWALEC Stadium, Cardiff. Shortlisted nominees have been selected in each category and the winners will be announced on the night.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.