Ludlow gets a new four year deal with Wales Women

Jayne Ludlow's success with Wales Women is rewarded with a four year contract extension

Jayne Ludlow with Owain Harries. Image by Callum Ellis

by Callum Ellis

WALES Women’s manager Jayne Ludlow has signed a contract extension to keep her in charge of the national side for another four years.

The news came as Ludlow named her squad ahead of their crucial World Cup Qualifier against England. A win would see Wales into the World Cup in France next year.

Wales currently sit top of Group One, one point ahead of the Lionesses who they held to a goalless draw at St Mary’s in April.

Ludlow’s side are hoping to qualify for their first ever major tournament – and head into the clash on August 31 knowing a victory would see them reach next year’s World Cup.

Jonathan Ford, Chief Executive of the FAW, said: “We are extremely delighted to see Jayne extend her tenure as the National Team Manager.

“She has been key in the development of Women’s football in Wales and her hard work with the national side has ensured a positive future for the game in Wales.”

Wales conclude their qualifying campaign against Phil Neville’s side at Rodney Parade, though England have played one game less and meet with Kazakhstan in their final qualifier next month.

Captain Sophie Ingle, who re-joined Chelsea from Liverpool in June, is expected to make her 88th appearance.

Wales’ all-time leading goalscorer Helen Ward and Reading winger Natasha Harding are both included in the squad as Ludlow looks to her experienced players for the winner-takes-all clash.

Bristol City defender Loren Dykes is also named alongside Seattle Reign midfielder Jess Fishlock, while 17-year-old Oklahoma forward Peyton Vincze returns to the squad after missing the last five qualifiers.

The Lionesses overcame Russia in their latest qualifier, while Wales also saw off Elena Fomina’s side following their 3-0 victory at Newport Stadium.

The squad in full: Claire Skinner (Cardiff City), Olivia Clarke (Nettleham), Laura O’Sullivan (Cyncoed Ladies), Loren Dykes (Bristol City), Sophie Ingle (Chelsea), Alice Griffiths (Cardiff City Ladies), Rhiannon Roberts (Liverpool), Rachel Rowe (Reading), Gemma Evans (Bristol City), Elise Hughes (Everton), Jess Fishlock (Seattle Reign), Hayley Ladd (Birmingham City), Angharad James (Everton), Nadia Lawrence (Cardiff City Ladies), Natasha Harding (Reading), Ffion Morgan (Cardiff City Ladies), Helen Ward (Watford), Kylie Nolan (Cardiff City Ladies), Peyton Vincze (Oklahoma), Kayleigh Green (Brighton & Hove Albion).

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.