Report: University of the West of England Men’s 1st 17-41 University of South Wales Men’s 1st

UWE v USW scrum. Image Sam Hart

by Jamil Bin-Salih

USW enjoyed a victorious return to action in the BUCS South A league as they dispatched of UWE in Bristol.

The first score of the afternoon came from the home side, Keast with the try for UWE but Hale failed to convert. 5-0 after 18 minutes.

Ten minutes later, USW turned it around through a Bryn Goodall try. He broke away in the centre of the field and touched down to level proceedings with Cavan Slade converting to make it 5-7 to the visitors.

Slade kicked a penalty just before the interval to increase USW’s lead going into half time.

UWE looked like a rejuvenated side after the break and regained the lead thanks to a breakaway try by Aungier. Hale scored the conversion to give the hosts a 12-10 lead.

The game sprang to life following the UWE try and quick-fire tries from USW’s Thomas Jevons, Bryn Goodall, Harry Rumens and Rhodri Smith took the game away from the Bristolians and handed the initiative to the away team in what was a frantic second half.

UWE v USW. Image Sam Hart

Slade successfully kicked all conversions that came his way throughout the game, as his ever-reliable kicking game once again proved to be vital in racking up the points for USW.

UWE managed to score a late try through Pronk but a missed conversion by Hale meant that the touchdown proved to be little more than a consolation for the bottom-placed team as the game came to its conclusion.

Ben Daniels’ side will again make the journey over the Severn Bridge next Wednesday as they face-off against University of Bristol Men’s 1st who currently sit five points and one place behind USW in the table.

Star player: B. Goodall

USW: 1. Connor Lewis, 2. Will Haly, 3. Joe Popple, 4. Cameron Taylor, 5. Ross Barnes, 6. Sam Tiley, 7. Thomas Jevons, 8. C Gareth Jones, 9. Harry Rumens, 10. Cavan Slade, 11. Marcus Jones, 12. Bryn Goodall, 13. Jack Shaddick, 14. Joe Davies, 15. Rhodri Smith

Replacements: 16. T. Stacey, 17. C. Barry, 18. J. Pritchard, 19. A. Meeson, 20. I Davies, 21. G. Workman, 22. F. Cooksley, 23. B. Clarke